Home Page

Green Hammerton Church of England Primary School

'Dream Believe Achieve'

Search Search
Translate Translate

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

We are very proud to have an Early Years Foundation Stage Unit which provides high quality care and education for children aged between 3 and 5 years. The unit is led by an experienced, qualified Early Years teacher and was graded good by Ofsted in 2019.


In Early Years your child will be learning through the Early Years Foundations Stage (EYFS) Curriculum. They will acquire new skills, knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.


The first 3 are described as prime areas, these are:


  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.


These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.


As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

These are:


  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.


These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The teachers and teaching assistants supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs and extend their learning. The EYFS curriculum is designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.


Our children learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.


EYFS Long-Term Plan

EYFS Outdoor area

Our outdoor area was renewed in January 2023.  The facilities have already made such a huge difference to the children.  Here are some photos of the area.